Item made during the Second German Empire.
The German Empire (German: Deutsches Kaiserreich, officially Deutsches Reich), sometimes referred to as Imperial Germany was the German nation state that existed from the unification of Germany in 1871 until the abdication of Emperor Wilhelm II in 1918.
It was founded on 1 January 1871 when the south German states, except for Austria, joined the North German Confederation and the new constitution came into force changing the name of the federal state to the German Empire and introduced the title of German Emperor for Wilhelm I, King of Prussia from the House of Hohenzollern.[10] Berlin remained its capital, and Otto, Prince of Bismarck, Minister-President of Prussia became Chancellor, the head of government. As these events occurred, the Prussian-led North German Confederation and its southern German allies were still engaged in the Franco-Prussian War.
The German Empire consisted of 26 states, most of them ruled by royal families. They included four kingdoms, six grand duchies, five duchies (six before 1876), seven principalities, three free Hanseatic cities, and one imperial territory. Although Prussia was one of several kingdoms in the realm, it contained about two thirds of Germany’s population and territory. Prussian dominance had also been established constitutionally.

Showing all 5 results

German 1898 First Pattern Quill Point Bayonet

WW1 German Imperial first Pattern Bayonet

WW1 German Seitengewehr 1884/98 Sawback Bayonet

First World War German Imperial Army Bayonet

WW1 Imperial German Erzatz Bayonet M188498 II for the Mauser Gew 98 Rifle

A rare example of a matching serial numbers replacement bayonet.